Warning: Use of undefined constant the_title - assumed 'the_title' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/thebookheist/www/www/wp-content/themes/thebookheist/template-parts/content-page.php on line 14

Monday, August 22, 2011

Book Review: Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers

Title: Original Sin

Author: Lisa Desrochers

Publisher: Tor Teen

Publication date: July, 2011
Softcover: 400 pages

Stand Alone or Series: Series–this is the second in a series.
How I got this book: Bought

 

Why I chose this book: I read the first in the series.  (And loved it!)

Synopsis:

Luc Cain was born and raised in Hell, but he isn’t feeling as demonic as usual lately—thanks to Frannie Cavanaugh and the unique power she never realized she had. But you can’t desert Hell without consequences, and suddenly Frannie and Luc find themselves targeted by the same demons who used to be Luc’s allies.

Left with few options, Frannie and Luc accept the protection of Heaven and one of its most powerful angels, Gabe. Unfortunately, Luc isn’t the only one affected by Frannie, and it isn’t long before Gabe realizes that being around her is too…tempting. Rather than risk losing his wings, he leaves Frannie and Luc under the protection of her recently-acquired guardian angel.

Which would be fine, but Gabe is barely out the door before an assortment of demons appears—and they’re not leaving without dragging Luc back to Hell with them. Hell won’t give up and Heaven won’t give in. Frannie’s guardian exercises all the power he has to keep them away, but the demons are willing to hurt anyone close to Frannie in order to get what they want. It will take everything she has and then some to stay out of Hell’s grasp.

And not everyone will get out of it alive.

Review:
The best way to describe this book is sizzling!  I couldn’t put it down!  (That’s a lie.  I put it down
every once in a while when it got too intense to take in all at once.  But that’s a good thing!) 
Lisa Desrochers has blown my mind once again with a fascinating and extraordinary sequel. 
I’ve always had a fascination with angels–so I love reading books that involve them.  But I don’t let
that fact cloud my judgement when reviewing a book.  So I can say with complete honesty that this
is one of the best angel/demon books out there.  And you should read it. 
Desrochers creates amazing characters that – even though some of them aren’t human – I can always
seem to relate to.  They have so much depth. (And I think the revolving POV helps me understand
each  of them and their own qualities.) 
And the plot!  So twisty-turny!  It left me guessing and unsuspecting and so much more!
I really can’t say enough about this novel.  I don’t want to say I was surprised, because the first
novel in the series – Personal Demons – was just as good.  So just wow. 

Sunday, August 21, 2011

BLOODLINES WINNER

Woot woot!  We have a winner!
So the winner of the super-awesome, can’t-believe-I-did-it BLOODLINES contest is…
Jill N.
Congrats Jill!  Hope you enjoy!

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Book Review: Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey

Title: Guardian of the Dead

Author: Karen Healey

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Publication date: August, 2011

Softcover: 368 pages

Stand Alone or Series: Stand Alone

How I got this book: Galley from Little, Brown

Why I chose this book: After reading the synopsis, I thought the novel sounded original and interesting, and decided to give it a shot.

Synopsis:
This is an intriguing YA urban fantasy in the tradition of Holly Black and Wicked Lovely. Set in New Zealand, Ellie’s main concerns at her boarding school are hanging out with her best friend Kevin, her crush on the mysterious Mark, and her paper deadline. That is, until a mysterious older woman seems to set her sights on Kevin, who is Maori, and has more than just romantic plans for him. In an effort to save him, Ellie is thrown into the world of Maori lore, and eventually finds herself in an all-out war with mist dwelling Maori fairy people called the patupaiarehe who need human lives to gain immortality.
 

The strong, fresh voice of the narrator will pull readers in, along with all the deliciously scary details: the serial killer who removes victim’s eyes; the mysterious crazy bum who forces a Bible on Ellie telling her she needs it; handsome, mysterious Mark who steals the Bible from her and then casts a forgetting charm on her. All of this culminates in a unique, incredible adventure steeped with mythology, Maori fairies, monsters, betrayal, and an epic battle.


Review:
 
This review is going to be short, sweet (or maybe not so sweet), and to the point. 
So here’s my delimma.  I have very mixed feelings about this book.  It was addicting, it captivated me, it pulled me in.  I could relate to the main character throughout the book.  I found myself actually laughing out loud at some parts.  The writing style was pretty amazing.  I ate through this book in one sitting, because I just couldn’t put it down
But there’s a problem…
The ending.  The ending can make or break a book.  And in this case, it broke it.  Big time.  I’m not talking about whether the ending was a happy one or not.  Unhappy endings can be good ones as well.  Without telling you whether the ending of this book was good or not, I can tell you this.  I hated it.  100%, complete loathing. 
So take that advice, opinion, what have you, as you will.  This could just be my point of view.  Someone else may think this book was adorably amazing, including the ending.  I didn’t.

Friday, August 12, 2011

Destined Cover Reveal

    So, how long have you been waiting for the cover of Destined by   P.C. and Kristin Cast?  Well, wait no longer, ’cause here it is!

Beautific isn’t it?  Well, there you have it folks.  Hope you think it’s as purty as I do.